Supa Healthy Banana Muffins

11 Aug

Hi friends!

Ok, this blog post is going to be much lighter than the previous few, and that’s because it involves…baking!!! I used to bake ALL the time before my ED really took hold, and so I haven’t really baked in many years. Baking to me= recovery (whether or not I consume what I bake). Being in the kitchen creating something is so fun!

I had some veryyy ripe bananas staring me in the face for a few days, so I figured I better whip something up! πŸ™‚

Here is what I made this morning…I got up and baked them even before I had breakfast! πŸ™‚

Recipe:

Dry Ingredients-

  • 1 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 oat bran
  • 1/4 rolled oats (I used gluten-free rolled oats)
  • 1/2 finely ground flaxseed
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt

Wet Ingredients-

  • 2 supa ripe bananas mashed
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tablespoons smooth almond butter
  • 1 tablespoon virgin coconut oil
  • ~1/4 unsweetened original almond milk
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350
  2. Combine dry ingredients
  3. Combine wet ingredients (except almond milk)
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry
  5. Mix gently. Mixture will be dry.
  6. Now add almond milk to combine fully
  7. Grease (12) muffin tin with coconut oil or line with wrappers and scoop in mixture.
  8. Batter will be very doughy and play-dough like- no worries, that’s how it’s supposed to be!
  9. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Spread with coconut oil, sprinkle with cinnamon and enjoy! πŸ™‚

Let me know how they turn out if anyone tries them!!

Have a great (rainy for me!) weekend! πŸ™‚

Much love and health,

Lauren xo

One Response to “Supa Healthy Banana Muffins”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Let’s talk about spontaneity « The Homeostatic Mindset - October 2, 2012

    […] and doing homework, #suchakeener, and I had the urge to bake. I’ve been wanting to make my ‘Supa Healthy banana muffins’ for a few days now, and I decided now was as good a time as any. So I headed upstairs and got my […]

Leave a Reply

