You, yes YOU are AWESOME!

28 Sep

We spend so much time looking for our faults, punishing ourselves, putting ourselves down. When was the last time you thought something nice about yourself? I mean something truly, genuinely great that you didn’t immediately backtrack in your head with a, “Ya, but…” retort. This needs to stop.

I have a challenge for us all. Every day, and I mean EVERYDAY, you must come up with at least five things you love about yourself. This can be anything from your sense of humour, your nurturing personality, your awesome sense of style, your sparkling green eyes, your strong shoulders, your sick dancing skills- anything. Whether it pertains to your body, your personality, your morals, your abilities- if you think they’re great, they are!

I have recently been acutely aware of how much I put myself down, how much I walk around campus looking at the ground. I feel like people are constantly looking at me, judging my every move, analyzing my every facial expression. Is that actually happening? Um, no. Who do I think I am!?Β That’s not self-compassionate. I’m not that important. Wrong again. How about, “Who the f%$k cares what people think, and if they are looking at me, look them in the eye, smile and stand proud.” That sounds better πŸ™‚

Everyday I will tell myself five awesome things about my self and I will walk around with purpose- walk like I mean it. Not trying to cower in the background, self-consciously biting my lip (and not in a sexy 50 Shades of Grey way). I don’t like feeling like this…Do you? I bet not. I want to walk around feeling strong, proud and beautiful. Proud of who I am and who I am becoming. Because I’m pretty great (I think). Correction: I’M AWESOME. Say it with me, friends.

Love the body you’re in, and more importantly love who you are as a PERSON. You’re a funny, bright, witty, creative, nurturing, patient, loving, AWESOME person. Don’t let your thoughts tell you otherwise, cause remember…Who’s in charge of those thoughts? That’s right- YOU πŸ™‚

Let me know how this challenge goes! I know you can do it πŸ™‚

Much love and health,

Lauren xo

Edited to add: I bought cream cheese tonight. You know what that means…That is all πŸ˜‰

4 Responses to “You, yes YOU are AWESOME!”

  1. Chelsie @ Balance, Not Scale September 28, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    I love this nearly as much as I love you!! So fabulous. I will definitely be partaking because I know I’m awesome. And you should know (though I hope you do already!!) that you’re pretty freaking awesome too!

    • thehomeostaticmindset September 28, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

      πŸ™‚ Ditto to you, my friend! You are the reason for so many of my changes! ❀

  2. Shu September 30, 2012 at 2:10 am #

    I am so happy to read this. This is the type of manual that needs to be given and not the accidental misinformation that’s at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this greatest doc.

    • thehomeostaticmindset October 8, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

      Wow! Thank you so much, Shu πŸ™‚ I apologize for my delay in responding…Your comment went into my spam box for some reason and I just picked it up now. Thanks for reading! xo

Leave a Reply

